cover personner

Mop Mop


Andrea Benini, also known as the man behind Mop Mop is a musician, music producer and composer from Cesena, Italy. He has worked in jazz, funk and club music. At the end of 1999, Benini moved to Bologna and attended the “Discipline delle Arti, della Musica e dell Spettacolo” (DAMS), pursuing the study of African-American music and Contemporary music.

From 2000 to 2003 Benini worked as journalist for the Italian magazine “Percussioni” interviewing musicians like Joey Baron, John Riley, Terry Clarke.
Andrea Benini is actually living and producing in Berlin. His current project is Mop Mop, a funk/afro/jazz mix including musicians Alex Trebo on piano, Pasquale Mirra on vibraphone, Guglielmo Pagnozzi on sax, Bruno Briscik on bass and Danilo Mineo on percussions.
Mop Mop‘s debut album “The 11th Pill” was released by Tam Tam Studio in 2005 and later re-released by P-Vine Records for the Japanese market.

In 2008 Benini has produced Mop Mop’s second album entitled “Kiss oF Kali”, released by the German label Infracom Records. The album features Down Beat Critics Poll winner Gianluca Petrella on trombone and Alan Farrington on vocals.
Infracom Records released Mop Mop’s third album “Ritual Of The Savage” in 2010.

In 2012 Mop Mop achieves the international film business as part of Woody Allen‘s “To Rome With Love” soundtrack with the song ”Three Times Bossa“, composed by Andrea Benini/Alex Trebo and produced by Tam Tam Studio.
Mop Mop‘s music was released by labels like Sony/BMG, Universal, Wagram, Agogo, Infracom, Freestyle, P-Vine and supported by DJs like Gilles Peterson, Toshio Matsuura, Michael Ruetten, Pete Isaac, Simon Harrison just to name a few.
During the last years they performed in Italy, Germany, France, Poland, Hungary, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Russian Federation, appearing in clubs, jazz clubs, theatres, festivals, national radio and television.
Mop Mop‘s fourth studio album “Isle Of Magic” which includes funk legend Fred Wesley on trombone and British poet Anthony Joseph on vocals, was released in 2013 on Agogo Records followed by its remix album “Isle Of Magic Remixed” in June 2014.
Live show
Travel in 6


On this website we use first or third-party tools that store small files (cookie) on your device. Cookies are normally used to allow the site to run properly (technical cookies), to generate navigation usage reports (statistics cookies) and to suitable advertise our services/products (profiling cookies). We can directly use technical cookies, but you have the right to choose whether or not to enable statistical and profiling cookies. Enabling these cookies, you help us to offer you a better experience. Cookie policy